Project

EA SEA-WAY
Europe-Adriatic SEA-WAY

Priority and Measure
Measure 3.1 – Physical Infrastructure
Priority 3 – Accessibility and Networks
EUSAIR Pillars
Connecting region
Type of Project
Strategic
Interviewee
Massimiliano Angelotti
Interviewee role
Project manager
Organization
Autonomous Region of Friuli Venezia Giulia – Central Directorate for infrastructure and territory
E-mail
massimiliano.angelotti@regione.fvg.it
Telephone
+39 040 377 4720
Project website
www.easeaway.eu
Budget in euros
6.534.144,39

Partners

Role Name City/ Country Contact Person Email contact/ website
Lead Partner Autonomous Region of Friuli Venezia Giulia - Central Directorate for infrastructure, mobility, spatial planning and public works Trieste Italy Massimiliano Angelotti Massimiliano.angelotti@regione.fvg.it
Partner 1 Informest   Gorizia Italy Sandra Sodini sandra.sodini@informest.it
Partner 2 Ravenna Province - European Policies and Productive Activities Department Ravenna Italy Simona Melchiorri smelchiorri@mail.provincia.ra.it
Partner 3 ERFC - European Regional Framework for Cooperation Aegion Greece Nikolaos Petropoulos petropoulos@otenet.gr / erfc@otenet.gr
Partner 4 Dubrovnik Neretva Region Dubrovnik Croatia Zvonko Culjat zculjat@dunea.hr
Partner 5 Region of Istria   Pula Croatia Damir Rudela damir.rudela@istra-istria.hr
Partner 6 Levante Port Authority Bari Italy Mario Mega m.mega@aplevante.org
Partner 7 Ancona Port Authority Ancona Italy Guido Vettorel g.vettorel@autoritaportuale.ancona.it
Partner 8 Sistemi Territoriali SPA Padova Italy Stefania Sorze sorze@sistemiterritorialispa.it
Partner 9 Molise Region   Campobasso Italy Angelo Primiani primiani.angelo@mail.regione.molise.it
Partner 10 Region Abruzzo - Department of Transport, Infrastructure, Mobility, networks  and Logistics Pescara Italy Maria Antonietta Picardi mariaantonietta.picardi@regione.abruzzo.it
Partner 11 University of Ljubljana (Faculty of Maritime studies and Transport) Ljubljana Slovenia Elen Twrdy elen.twrdy@fpp.uni-lj.si
Partner 12 University of Belgrade - Faculty of Traffic and Transport Engineering (FTTE) Belgrade Serbia Olja Cokorilo oljav@sf.bg.ac.rs
Partner 13 Port of Bar Holding Company Bar Montenegro Deda Delovic deda.djelovic@lukabar.me
Partner 14 TEULEDA Shkodër Albania Klaudia Darragjati klaudia.darragjati@teuleda.org.al
Partner 15 Ministry of Public Works and Transport Tiranë Albania Florijan Bilali florian.bilali@mppt.gov.al
Partner 16 Faculty of Traffic and Communication - University of Sarajevo Sarajevo     Bosnia and Herzegovina Azra Ferizovic azraferizovic@yahoo.com
Partner 17 Port of Split Authority Split Croatia Josko Berket Bakota jberket@portsplit.com
Partner 18 County of Primorje and Gorski Kotar Rijeka Croatia Tomislav Kandžija tomislav.kandzija@pgz.hr
Partner 19 Igoumenitsa Port Authority S.A Igoumenitsa Greece Kostantinos Grinias kgrinias@olig.gr

Project Description

Description

Project description

Contributing in facilitating accessibility and mobility of people across the Adriatic and Ionian area was the main goal of EA SEA-WAY project , which gathered 20 partners, coming from 8 countries, in setting up a strategic project. The aim was to provide some soft solutions for developing new cross border, sustainable and integrated transport services and for improving some physical infrastructures, decreasing CO2 emissions caused to the mobility of passengers.
 

What has been done during the project  in order to achieve its main goal(s)?

he project had a result-oriented approach, proved by the role and the importance put on the pilot actions for providing some real improvements in the mobility of citizens and tourists, as well as by the focus of the working groups established on the challenges represented by infomobility and passengers services at terminal.

In particular, a set of specific integrated actions have been carried out, represented by three groups of pilot activities:

a)      realization of physical infrastructures, modernisation and strengthening of ports for passenger transport;

b)     establishment of  fast Ferry/hydrofoil passenger lines across Adriatic;

c)      integration of Adriatic ports with hinterland and services improvement for passengers.
 

Which are the project main results/impacts? 

Results/Impact 1

Integrating and upgrading existing and new collective passenger transport services;

Results/Impact 2

Exploring a better integration of urban and regional connections among ports, airports and main tourist destinations and urban areas;

Results/Impact 3

Developing new and renovating existing infrastructures in the Adriatic and Ionian port system; position papers and sustainability plans produced by each pilot activity to facilitate the transferability of pilot results to other regions of the Adriatic and Ionian area which are facing similar challenges;

Results/Impact 4

MoU signed among partners on specific topics, with the MoU for setting up of a Cross Border Observatory on passenger maritime transport, as the most strategic one, being aimed at collecting data, spreading best practices, finding common solutions and harmonizing procedures in the whole Adriatic and Ionian area;

Result / Impact 5:

The definition of an Adriatic and Ionian sustainable passenger transport strategy, which includes a set of suggestions on measures to reduce CO2 emissions. A strategy strongly linked to the outlined sustainable passenger transport models for the Adriatic and Ionian basin proposed activating new governance tools and sharing sustainable cooperation strategies on passenger transport, for supporting EUSAIR Action plan implementation.